Skip NavigationCambridge Office for Tourism logo
Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992

Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992

“As necessary now as when Los Angeles was actively smoldering,” (The New York Times), "Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992," running at the Loeb Drama Center Sunday, Aug. 28 through Saturday, Sept. 24, is a stirring cry for reform. Thirty years ago, the news of the police officers’ acquittal in Rodney King’s police brutality case reverberated throughout the streets of Los Angeles. Called “a riot,” “a revolution” and “a social explosion,” the events that followed drew worldwide attention—and inspired playwright, actor and scholar Anna Deavere Smith to dissect the anatomy of the civil unrest. Her Tony Award-nominated, Obie Award-winning exploration derived from interviews with more than 350 Los Angelinos reveals the fault lines that set the city ablaze. Smith revised the play last year for a cast of five while in residence at Signature Theatre, where Taibi Magar directed this acclaimed production.

Notable Dates:

  • ASL interpreted: Sunday, 9/18 at 2 p.m. and Wednesday, 9/21 at 7:30 p.m.

  • Audio described: Saturday, 9/17 at 2 p.m. and Thursday 9/22 at 7:30 p.m.

  • Open captioned: Saturday, 9/17 at 2 p.m. and Thursday, 9/22 at 7:30 p.m.

  • Relaxed: Saturday, 9/24 at 2 p.m.

Location

64 Brattle Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA

Harvard Square

Date & Time

  • Fri Sep 16, 2022-Sat Sep 17, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Fri Sep 2, 2022-Sat Sep 3, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Fri Sep 23, 2022-Sat Sep 24, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Fri Sep 9, 2022-Sat Sep 10, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Mon Sep 12, 2022-Tue Sep 13, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Sat Sep 10, 2022

    • 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Sat Sep 10, 2022-Sun Sep 11, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Sat Sep 17, 2022

    • 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Sat Sep 17, 2022-Sun Sep 18, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Sat Sep 24, 2022

    • 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Sat Sep 3, 2022

    • 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Sat Sep 3, 2022-Sun Sep 4, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Sun Aug 28, 2022-Mon Aug 29, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Sun Sep 11, 2022

    • 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Sun Sep 18, 2022

    • 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Sun Sep 18, 2022-Mon Sep 19, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Sun Sep 4, 2022

    • 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Sun Sep 4, 2022-Mon Sep 5, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Thu Sep 1, 2022-Fri Sep 2, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Thu Sep 15, 2022-Fri Sep 16, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Thu Sep 22, 2022-Fri Sep 23, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Thu Sep 8, 2022-Fri Sep 9, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Tue Aug 30, 2022-Wed Aug 31, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Tue Sep 6, 2022-Wed Sep 7, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Wed Aug 31, 2022-Thu Sep 1, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Wed Sep 14, 2022-Thu Sep 15, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Wed Sep 21, 2022

    • 2:00pm - 4:30pm
  • Wed Sep 21, 2022-Thu Sep 22, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am
  • Wed Sep 7, 2022-Thu Sep 8, 2022

    • 11:30pm - 2:00am

Type